Posted by: nikicf | August 16, 2010

BRAT Diet

I’m on a new diet. Never heard of it? Check it our here.

Yes, without giving TMI (too much info), the Frew fam (minus daddy) have been suffering with the flu since the early morning hours of Saturday.  Though I initially believed it was a 24 hour bug, I’ve since changed my mind.  Over 48 hours later and we’re still pajama-clad, just laying around under the fan and watching TV.

I’m actually feeling almost human now and ready to start eating again.  Looked up what might be easy to digest for my poor old tummy and found the BRAT diet – Bananas, Rice, Applesauce, and Toast.  Just had some plain whole wheat toast and some warmed-up strawberry applesauce and (dare I say it?) so far, so good. And I’m sipping my warm, weak tea as I type.

Photo from here. (Doesn’t it look good? Making this once I’m better!)

Anyhow, sorry for my absence on the blog.  Busy + not doing so great in the eating-in-moderation department = lack of blog posts here.  :(

But to look on the bright side of being sick: being ill and confined to my bed (when I wasn’t tending to sick children) means I’ve gotten caught up on all my healthy living blogs.  And I think I’ve managed to glean some motivation to get back into a healthier groove.  In addition, the last thing I ate before getting sick was NOT a healthy, clean-eating food.  I know that this food didn’t cause the sickness, but nonetheless it has made me want to swear off anything that isn’t super healthy!

How’s that for seeing the good parts of a tummy bug!?! :)

I’ll keep you updated!

Responses

  1. i guess there can be a benefit to having a tummy flu.
    when hubby goes back to work on wednesday, this past month will have all caught up with me and it will be time to healthy meal plan and exercise…

  2. [...] gave me the go ahead to start eating “normal” food last night around 6 pm.  (Yes, my BRAT diet lasted about 5 hours.)  I tried to think of something that wasn’t too heavy, but what I was [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

