Posted by: nikislosingit | March 11, 2011

I’m Back!

Just posted on my other blog, but I figured since I’m in a blogging mood, I might as well go with it.

I know it’s just been a day since my last post, but I HAD TO share the awesome recipe I discovered last night.  Honestly, it was the best recipe discovery I’ve had in ages.  I only served it to Andy and I, as I wasn’t sure how it’d go over with my super picky kids.  But I did give each child one bite and actually got a green light from all three.  Not that doesn’t necessarily mean they would eat a whole bowl as a main course, but we will give it a go the next time I make it.  And that will be SOON!  It was THAT GOOD!

Here is the original recipe, though I did make a few healthifying (not a word, I know) changes.

Spinach Artichoke Mushroom Casserole

AKA Spinach Artichoke Mushroom Crustless Quiche

 

  • 1 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • salt, to taste
  • pepper
  • 1 lb sliced mushrooms
  • 15 – 20 ounces fresh (or frozen) spinach
  • 1 large jar of artichokes, drained and quartered
  • 1 lb fat free ricotta
  • 1/2 c. cheese (I used colby jack cheese)
  • 1/2 cup crumbled fat free feta
  • 4 eggs
  • eggwhite equivalent of 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Grease 13x 9 x 2 pan.
  3. In skillet heat oil, onions, garlic and saute.
  4. Add mushrooms, cook til soft. Add spinach and artichokes. Cook until spinach is wilted.
  5. Mix eggs and cheeses with nutmeg in small bowl and then add to mix.
  6. Place in casserole dish and sprinkle w/parm cheese.
  7. Bake 45-50 minutes.

(I thought it made about 8 servings, and each was 7 WW Points.)

Oh my! It was AMAZING!  Let me know if you try it and what you think!

Responses

  1. i am definitely going to have to try this!

    • Let me know what you guys think, Kelly! It really was a hit over here, and the left-overs tonight were just as good. I’m already excited about when we’ll have it next week!

  2. my you are a busy, cooking woman!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

