Posted by: nikicf | May 31, 2009

I’ve been waiting…

…to write this post for years!  Well, at least since I joined Weight Watchers for the first time the summer after Makenna was born (almost FOUR years ago).

I did it!  I made it to my Weight Watchers goal weight! I was so excited this morning, knowing that today was going to be the day.  So excited that I could not fall back asleep after waking up at 7, which is highly unusual for me!  I decided to exercise before my meeting, since I was awake anyways, and got out the door by 8 to run my Week 7 Day 1 run. (Which was hard, but bearable.  Hoping it will get a bit easier over the next two 25 minute runs.)

Quickly showered and headed off to the meeting.

Tried not to grin too much as I weighed in.  I had weighed myself on my scale at home, so knew I’d done what I needed to do to lose a pound and get to my goal.  I really was very careful this week, trying to cut back higher calorie extras to make sure I dropped the lb.  I also got in 6 work-outs during the week, 4 runs/walks and 2 Turbo Sculpt sessions.  The crazy thing is that I didn’t just drop the pound I needed to get to goal, or the 1.2 lbs I need to get my 35 lb star.  I blew all that away and lost a total of 3.8 lbs!! Not even sure how this happened (remember this post?), but I’ll take it.  I really did feel like jumping up and down a bit, but I kept my excitement in!  😛

I was a few minutes late to my meeting, so I did not get my award publicly in the meeting, as the leader had already done the awards by the time I got weighed in.  Which was fine with me, especially since I have not been going to this particular meeting for very long, so am not super attached to the leader or members.  I also was not ready to answer some question about what the key was to my success. Honestly?  Lots of things.  Lots of changes.  Lots of determination.  (Ya, very enlightening answer, I know!)

So here is my new prized possession.  Supposed to be a key chain, but my key chain is big and clunky enough already.  (Or so says my husband!)  The bronze coloured “10” you get when you lose 10% of your body weight.  The donut is for losing 25 lbs.  And the star is for getting to goal.  Next will be a lifetime “key”, once I weigh-in within 2 lbs of my goal weight for six weeks.  I cannot wait!!!  I will be celebrating when I get there!

IMG_8170

It has taken me all day to write this post, so now it is late and I am off to bed.  I need some serious sleep after my early morning.  Plus, I have a busy day tomorrow with Kaleb’s birthday party in the afternoon.

Responses

  1. Congrats Niki! YAY for 3.8 lbs!! I can’t believe you do 6 workouts in a week. Wowzers.

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!! That is such a huge accomplishment…you have inspired me to try the couch to 5k program. Thanks for sharing this blog!!

  3. A HUGE congrats to you Niki….woohoo!!!! You must feel fantastic. I think you will do just great maintaining because it sounds like you have truly fallen in love with the whole “health” picture! The one thing I did that really helped me maintain was daily or every other day weigh-ins. 1 or 2 lbs. was no big deal, but 3 and up required a bit of action!!!!
    Enjoy!!!

  4. Congratulations!!!! What an awesome accomplishment 🙂

  5. Congrats Niki! I bet it feels sooo good!

  6. I had to add that you’re missing your “after” picture – can’t wait to see it!

    • Yes, Laura! I know! I promise to have some official “after” shots once we get home from out vacation in Atlanta!

  7. Congratulations! What a super-star model you are for your girls – and your friends, too!

    Have an AWESOME holiday in Atlanta – enjoy being pampered a bit!!!

  8. WOW, that’s awesome!!!!!!
    truly inspirational.


Leave a Reply

Categories

