Posted by: nikicf | July 1, 2009

Doing the Victory Dance!

Not one but TWO reasons I’m doing the victory dance over here!

First, I survived what I fondly refer to as “Fatlanta”!!!  Whooohoooo!!  This is a major victory for me, as it is the first time in the six years we have been making out annual pilgrimage that I have not gained weight vacationing with the in-laws.  Every year I promise myself that I will eat decently and moderately and the take time to exercise.  But this is the first year that I kept that promise, and wow, does that ever feel good!

So instead of gaining weight, I actually lost weight during my vacation.  About 3 lbs actually, for the almost 3 weeks that we were there.  Not too shappy, eh?  I was able to, apart from my previously mentioned slip-up, eat moderately and make thoughtful eating choices.  I also took the time to exercise every day we were there, apart from the three days we were at camp.  Despite the heat and hills, I even did some running, and felt fitter and stronger leaving Altanta than when I arrived. What a difference that is from my previous trips!

My second victory is different, though equally as exciting.  Not all of you will understand why this achievement is so big, but I’m sure some will be able to relate.  It even might be one of the favorite milestones I have hit so far in this “losing it” journey!!  What is it?  I finally fit into all the too-small clothes I had stashed away in boxes and in the back of Jorja’s closet.  These are pre-pregnancy clothes and beyond that I optimistically hoped I would fit into again one day.

And that ONE DAY has come!  Yipppeeeeee!  After coming home from vacation, I pulled out the final box of stuff that I was waiting to fit into.  It was mostly jeans and a few pairs of capris.  One by one, I tried them on.  And they ALL FIT!  I was in shock actually.  It was a bit surreal.

Mind you, not all of them were in style anymore.  Ha, ha!  Pants from way back were shaped and styled a bit different.  But the point is that I fit into them all.  I optimistically kept them all because I hoped to wear them again someday, but I think in the back of my mind I doubted if this would ever happen.  Especially with my track record of dieting, losing some, abandoning the diet and gaining again.  Repeat endlessly.

But I did it.  Got to my goal.  Now to work on learning to make it a permanent change and a “lifestyle”.  No more ups and downs.  And ups.

Thanks for celebrating with me!  I hope this encourages those of you who need it!  You can do it.  You can make the gradual changes to feel and be healthier.  🙂 Have a GREAT Canada Day!

Responses

  1. What a great, upbeat post! Congrats on your victories! 🙂

  2. Congratulations Niki!!! That’s such a huge accomplishment and feels so good to fit into “skinny” clothes! Way to go!

  3. yahoooooooooooooo!!!!

  4. seeing pictures of myself this summer … I can’t wait to act on the inspiration you’ve given next summer when Jax will be weaned.


Leave a Reply

Categories

