Posted by: nikicf | August 8, 2009

Whole Wheat Cottage Cheese Pancakes

Or as Jorja says, cancakes!

This is a recipe from Tosca Reno’s The Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook, which we really like!cancakes

Dry:

1 1/4 c. whole wheat flour
1 tsp. baking powder
2 tbsp. maple sugar flakes (I use Splenda or Stevia instead)
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. sea salt

Wet:

8 egg whites
1 c. fat free or 1% cottage cheese
1 c. fat free plain yogurt

Combine dry ingredients. Add wet.  Stir just until moistened.

Serve with fruit, your favorite nut butter, and whipped milk.  YUM!

Responses

  1. How do you find the eat-clean cookbook? Are the recipes pretty basic (i.e. not requiring random “clean” things that will take forever to find at the grocery store?)

  2. I like the cookbook a lot! I still have loads of recipes I want to try, but have liked all I have made so far. Gorgeous pictures of each dish seriously make me want to try them all! (I have a friend who has tried almost all of them, and even subscribes to the magazine.)

    And as for random ingredients, I have not found it to be too bad. A few different grains, but all are pretty easily found. Just maple sugar flakes, but I just substitute either Splenda or Stevia powder.

    I’d be happy to let you borrow it for a few weeks if you want to come for a visit!


Leave a Reply

Categories

