Posted by: nikicf | August 10, 2009

Confessions and a Recipe

Here to report a bad “snack attack” last night.  Well, it really was not that bad when I compare it to how I used to struggle with evening eating, but I am still a bit frustrated with myself for occupying and entertaining myself with food when it was NOT necessary.

We had friends over for dinner and I cooked up a scrumptious meal (if I do say so myself!) of lemon basil chicken breasts, tomato cucumber basil bocconcini salad and cornmeal stuffed red peppers with black bean cilantro sauce.  I ate and felt nicely full and satisfied, but right away knew I needed a sweet end for dinner.  Andy made decaf coffee, which I find helps, and I had three of the small 1 Point Coconut Macaroons I had made for dessert.  All good so far.

And then our company left.  And Andy went to the movies with some guy friends.  I was alone and wanted to eat.  Not even sure why, as I have had several great eating days, seen results on the scale, and was happy for an evening on my own (with my Jorja) to relax.

Thankfully I didn’t do too much “damage”.  I really don’t keep much junky food around the house, just so I am less tempted when feeling this way.  I stuck to my healthy macaroons (had 4 more of the tablespoon sized cookies) and my 1 cal. meringues (but ate more than the serving size, which is something I try not to do) and some cherries.

But obviously still need to work on alternate activities eating during my evening down time, since I was not hungry AT ALL.  I also don’t like to eat on my own privately (something I did a lot of before) since there are so many situations and festivities based around food that I don’t like to waste my Points on food when I am alone.

Thankfully I have learned (am learning) that eat day and even each our is a fresh choice, so can get right back to eating healthy and when hungry and not let any detours sidetrack or discourage me.  I am also learning not to use exercise to “punish” myself for bad eating, but to do it because it feels good (at least when I am done!), is good for me and gives me more energy for my days.

Anyhow, there is my “confession”.  😛  Before I sign off, I have to share my new favorite soup.  My mother-in-law made this while we were in Atlanta this last visit and I fell in love.  I’ve had some like it, but she’s found the perfect recipe in this one.  The only modification I might make next time is to add some black beans for some added protein.  I also would double the batch, as I was sad when this was quickly finished! 😉

Sharon’s Tortilla Soup

1 onion
3 garlic cloves
1/2 fresh jalapeno chili (or to taste)
2 tbsp. chopped cilantro
2 tbsp. lime juice
6 c. chicken broth (I used closer to 8 )

2 chicken breasts, cooked and cut/shredded into pieces
1 c. corn
1/2 c. rice, uncooked (or 1 c. cooked)
1/2 c. cilantro leaves, chopped

Garnish soup with…

1 firm-ripe avocado cut into chunks
1 fresh lime cut into wedges
Chopped tomato and onion
Tortilla strips (optional)

____________________________

Coarsely chop onion, garlic and jalapeno. In large pot, bring to boil chicken broth, onioin, garlic, jalapeno and cilantro.  Simmer for a least 30 min.

Pour broth mixture through sieve into a bowl.  In blender (or with Bamix), blend onion, etc and return mush to broth in pot.

Add chicken, corn, rice and cilantro.  Cook on low until rice is cooked (about another 30 min.)

Serve with garnish.

Tortilla soup

Responses

  1. ohh I love tortilla soup and this seems healthy, I’m on it!

  2. Yumm! I’m glad I found your recipe. I really enjoyed eating it at your house. I make a tomato based Sopa de Tortilla that my family loves. I think I will need to have you over for lunch to try my version. 🙂 I think I will be using your recipe for added variety!


Leave a Reply

Categories

