Posted by: nikicf | August 20, 2009

Baked Goods and I Do NOT Get Along!

I thought we could work out some sort of truce between us.  I mean, I’ve grown a lot in the past 7-8 months.  I’ve learned some things. I’ve matured.  But I was wrong.  Very wrong!

zm2

I stumbled upon this recipe for Chocolate Zucchini Muffins a few days back, while looking for something I could turn the giant zucchini on my counter into.  I’ve always had a weakness for Chocolate Zucchini loaf (thanks Mrs. Martens!).  But my husband?  Not so much.  For years I have been determined to find the perfect recipe that would win him over and convince to love the chocolate and zucchini combination along with me.  I saw this recipe and decided that this was it.  How could he not love it, with the chocolate chips sprinkled both in and on top of the muffin??

zm

So I picked up chocolate chips at the grocery store last night and then whipped up these beauties this morning before our noon splash park playdate.  And they turned out great. GRRRREAT!  And unfortunately, about 2 1/2 have already been consumed by me, and it is only 4 o’clock! I ended up having these for lunch, instead of a healthier, lower Point option, since they made it into my stomach first. 😦

Baking: 2 (and a half!)
Niki: 0

Yes, it turns out fresh baking is just a bit too much for me to resist.  But I’m done now, and I’m not going to let it get me down.

zm3

Now I just have to remember this lesson in the future when I am tempted to bake again.  Either pick something I don’t like, or make sure it has a specific destination/occasion so that it is not sitting on my counter all day long!  I know my weaknesses! 😉

(End note: Andy tried then and knew instantly what I was up to.  And NO, he did not like them!  He does not like at all the chocolate and spice cake combination, and the zucchini does not help the situation out either.

Also, the muffins are now out of the house.  My brother-in-law loved them so he took the remainder home with him after their visit tonight.  Yay!  You can tempt me no longer, baked goods!)

Responses

  1. I hear you!
    I (haven’t learned yet to NOT) bake…I still do AND I also know..batter of anykind is going to be tasted ..and tasted…and then the final product (to make sure it’s safe)… and the sort.

    I got out of baking lately..(summer heat) and I am getting itchy again now that Fall is almost here.

    i never met a muffin i didn’t like!
    eeks.

  2. Hi Niki!

    Thanks for stopping by.

    I am the same exact way w/ baked goods, I’ll tell ya!

    You look fantastic – congrats on your journey and all of the work 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  3. I’m willing to try that recipe to ‘get rid’ of my excess zuchinni!


Leave a Reply

Categories

