Posted by: nikicf | August 22, 2009

Slow Learner!

Well, I baked again. Not sure why I didn’t learn my lesson from yesterday, but I didn’t! 😛

Thankfully I was a bit more controlled.  Not much, but a bit.  And these were healthier as well, so I was doing less damage as I munched. Andy decided he would be more into a zucchini and banana bread combo, and so I found this recipeIMG_5124IMG_5123 online.  And it was a hit with everyone!

Healthy Banana Zucchini Oatmeal Loaf

Ingredients

  • 1/2 c. white flour
  • 1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 4 eggs (or egg white substitute)
  • 1 1/4 cups white sugar or Splenda
  • 3 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 2 medium overripe mashed bananas
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 cups shredded (and peeled) zucchini
  • 1 cup walnuts (or cranberries or raisins or chocolate chips or some combination)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Whisk together white flour, wheat flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and salt.In a separate bowl, beat the eggs.

Add the sugar, oil, applesauce, vanilla and mashed bananas to the eggs; mix well.

Combine the wet and dry mixtures. Stir until just combined. Fold in the zucchini and “extras”.

Pour into 2 lightly greased loaf pans (9×5-inch).  Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.

(Nadia, try this one too, as you “get rid of” your excess zucchini! It is yummy!)

(Made 15 muffins.  Approx. 137 calories, 3.4 gr. fat, 3 gr. fibre – without the nuts or extra goodies added.)

______________________________________________________

So, just one day till I turn 35 and 8 days until my first 7K race.  Yup, it is a big week for me!  More on this coming soon.  Have a great week-end!

Responses

  1. That is the problem with growing zucchini… it’s impossible to grow a reasonable quantity of it. You either don’t grow it or… grow so much you can’t possibly use it all in pleasant ways.
    I know someone who instituted a “homeless zucchini program”.

  2. Actually, someone told me today that they grated and freeze it so that they can use it all winter long! Sounds good…but I have found people that will take my extras too!

  3. I did just that yesterday, Nadia. I grated and stored in my freezer in 2 c. portions so I can use it during the year. And I’d be happy to have any extras you have if you still find yourself with too much!

  4. Thanks for the comment, Lele. “Homeless zucchini program”. I love it! I’m not the grower, so I’d be all over a program like that. The zucchini I have been using is a very large one from a neighbor of my parents!

  5. oo, can’t wait to try them both!

  6. This looks fabulous! I am so gonna bake that this weekend!

    Thanks for the great recipe

  7. I made this (and the chocolate muffins too!). I really like it, but next time won’t add chocolate chips to the loaf. It was just too messy and didn’t feel as healthy.

  8. Rachel – I did chocolate chips for one loaf (the kids’) and walnuts for the other (mine). I will admit I “helped” the kids with theirs, but loved the walnuts just as much and obviously are much more healthy.

  9. I made this yesterday using porridge oats (oat bran and wheat germ added in with the oats) and put in craisins and chocolate chips. So yummy! Andrew of course wouldn’t try it, but Josh loved it and asked me to put it in his school lunches. Always great to find a healthy lunch item! Also, thanks for the tip on freezing zucchini – I’ll definitely be doing that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

