Posted by: nikicf | September 3, 2009

The Next Goal

Yes, I’ve decided to keep going with the running thing and do a 10K race on September 19.  It feels a little soon since my 7K on Sunday, but it is hard to find races on Saturday. (And Sundays are hard with my husband the pastor.)  This date works, so I am going to do it.

In preparation (and to prove to myself that I could), I decided to go out and do a longer run yesterday.  I ran 9.37K and it felt great!  I mean, it felt hard, but I now know I could do the extra .63K to finish the race.

Can I say how strange this feels?  Me, a runner?!?  Weird!  All I can say is, if I can do it, anyone can!

And another challenge?  The next few days at “Camp Awesome”!!!  Today we head out with three other families for two nights at our own “camp” in Point Roberts, WA.  It is loads of fun and something we all look forward to before the schedule of back-to-school begins.  But it really is one big eat-fest!  Loads of goodies (of which I am bringing much of!) and much opportunity to eat them.

I’m hoping to enjoy a few.  But just a few.  In moderation.  Otherwise, I plan to stick with my healthy eating.

I’ll admit I am a bit scared, knowing what other years have looked like for me in terms of consumption.  I’ll have to work on applying all I have learned and practiced for the past 8 months to survive this.

I’ll let you know how it goes…

At the PNE fair, working on moderation with just 2 mini cinnamon sugar donuts! 🙂

Me

Responses

  1. a 10K is amaaaaaazing!

    I am just just starting to run…and learning to be proficient at it…but it’s a slow start!

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!

    I guess I’ll just keep plugging at it!

  2. NIKI!!!! You are seriously awesome! I love reading your blog and hearing about this journey of yours….so inspiring…seriously, i went and ran an 8k after i read this….SO tempted to join you on the 10k, but pretty sure i would hold you back!

  3. Good luck on your 10km! My sister and I are doing one on Oct 11th. We found a great training program that you could try, the link is http://students.sfu.ca/recreation/programs_spring/fitness/documents/sunruntrainingprogram-1_000.pdf
    We just did our first hill workout last night and it is harder than you think! Don’t feel too bad today though. I look forward to see you how you like the 10k distance!
    Tara

  4. I’ll have to come cheer you on! So proud of you and your success with running 🙂 Maybe you’ll even beat your uncle?!

  5. Good luck on the 10k!

  6. Thanks for the encouragement, all! 🙂 It does feel pretty great, especially since I never imagined I would/could do this!

    Megan, sent you a FB message pleading with you about joining me!

    Tara, thanks for the link. I’ll check it out and see how well prepared I can get in a 2 week period! 😛

    Michelle, yes, come and cheer me on. I think my family might come out, so that would be fun.


Leave a Reply

Categories

