Posted by: nikicf | September 10, 2009

An update, some thoughts and a recipe!

Oh my!

(That is supposed to remind you of “Lions and tigers and bears! Oh my!”)

Well, it has been a whole week since my last post.  I think I’ve been neglecting this blog because I don’t have the glowing report of my eating at Camp Awesome I’d hoped I’d have. 😦  And then I always seem to find it hard to drag my butt back on the wagon after a few days of indulgences. And this week has been no exception.

I will say, it could have been worse.  I did make *some* good choices, both at camp and during the days since then.  But I have also succumbed on too many occasions.  Mostly during the evenings. Yes, the evenings have killed me.

And I’m trying to figure out why.  And how to change that.  I’m feeling back on track today, but I’m aware that the evening still lurks.  And my “need” to munch might still try to rear its ugly head.

Urgh, why is this so hard sometimes?!?

So there you go.  All my deep and delicious thoughts!  😛 Ha, ha!

My update has to do with my running.  Still plugging away at my version of training for the 10K.  I did some hill training one day (and my butt muscles are still hurting!) and some medium length runs as well.  I hope to do a full 10K either on Saturday or Monday, maybe one more stab at the hill training, and then will fill up with a few shorter runs.  I’m trying to remind myself that I just have to finish it!  Any time will be my personal best at this point, since I have yet to run a 10K!  😛

And lastly, I had to share my new favorite salad with you.  It is actually my made-up version of a salad someone brought to the Parkinson’s potluck.  I’ve made it for several BBQs since then and it has been very well received!  Funny thing is that this salad made me realize that I like lentils.  I think it was the first time I had tried them as an adult so didn’t know I liked them!

lentil3

Tomato, Pepper and Lentil Salad

1 can of lentils, drained and rinsed
Cherry tomatoes, chopped into small pieces
Oven roasted red pepper, chopped into small pieces
Bunch of chopped cilantro
Light feta, crumbled into small bits

Dressing

Ground sea salt
Lemon juice (~2 tbsp +)
Extra virgin olive oil (~1 tbsp +)

lentil2

Let me know if you try it and what you think!

___________________________

Adding nutritional, since I took the time (and it takes forever) to figure it out:

Total recipe (6 c.): 800 cal, 29.3 gr. fat, 17.4 gr. fibre
Per 2 c. serving: 267 cal, 9.8 gr. fat, 5.8 gr. fibre = 5 Points

(With 90 g. of light feta, 2 large peppers, and 2 med. tomatoes, 1 tbsp. EVOO and 2 tbsp. lemon juice.)

Responses

  1. your salad looks very delish!

    I know you’ll do great on the 10k …10K Holy Moly

    are you so dang proud of yourself! you should be!

    10K…no matter how you do…you are out there doing it!

    good for you!

  2. YUMMY looking salad!!

    I laughed out loud when I saw your “Oh my!” because that’s my gmail chat status right now. But it’s “Picas and pixels and proofs…oh my!” (Yearbook season has begun!!) 😉

  3. Niki, I made this salad and absolutely love it! I actually thought it tasted even better the second day!! Thanks for sharing your recipes…

  4. Glad you liked it, Kelly! And I totally agree! It is better the next day, so a perfect salad to made a big batch of and then enjoy for a few days!


Leave a Reply

Categories

