Posted by: nikicf | September 20, 2009

Crisp-alicious!

This summer I have been enjoying A LOT of healthy crisps.  So many delicious fresh fruits available and scrumptious combinations.  And I love that that a healthy crisp is a great dessert alternative, so I don’t have to feel like I am depriving myself while everyone else indulges!  Here is the basic recipe I have been using:

Fruit Crisp

Chopped fruit for crisp in baking dish.

Combinations I tried this summer:

Mango/Peach
Apple/Blackberry
Apple/Rhubarb
Rhubarb/strawberry
Plum/apple

The options are almost endless!

To the chopped fruit I add approximately 2 tbsp. lemon juice and a little sugar baking Splenda (amount depends on how tart the fruits I’m using are; won’t be necessary for sweeter fruits).  Feel free to use regular sugar or Stevia in its place, if you prefer.

Topping:

1/2 c. whole wheat flour
1/2 c. old fashioned rolled oats
1/4 c. multi-grain oats (optional)
3-4 tbsp. ground flax seed
3 tbsp. canola oil (extra may be needed to moisten mixture)
1/4 c. chopped walnuts (optional)
2 tbsp. Splenda or sugar
2 tbsp. Splenda brown or regular brown sugar

crisp

The above is an apple and Damson plum crisp.  YUM!  Tart and flavorful, just like I like it!  I’m eating it with blended 1% cottage cheese, which is flavored with a little vanilla and sweetened with a little Splenda.  This can be done in a food processor or with a bamix and it is a lovely creamy topping that adds protein to your sweet treat!

And I’m off to have a bowl just like the bowl above with a cup of decaf coffee!  Hope you had a good week-end!

Leave a Reply

Categories

