Posted by: nikicf | October 30, 2009

Experimenting with New Vegetables

On the menu tonight?  Swiss Chard.  Thanks to my veggie loving bro, I’ve eaten it before.  But never made it for myself.

This week’s trip to the fresh fruit and veggie market means it is time to start experimenting in the kitchen.  I could not turn down the huge bunch for just $1.29!

I’ve emailed my brother for his recipe, but am not sure I’ll get that in time for supper.  Plus, I love hunting down a good recipe on the internet.  Honestly, finding great healthy recipes on the internet is one of my favorite things.  The resources online for making good food is endless!

Here are a few that I am looking at: a basic one, one with pinto beans and goat cheese, and another with raisins and pine nuts.

Andy just informed me as I was writing this that he doesn’t like chard.  😦  Well, hopefully I pick a good recipe and I like it!  As there is a lot of it!  Or maybe, just maybe, I can win him over!

__________________

It is a few days later now, and I’m finally getting back to the blog to tell you about my supper.  I ended up taking the parts that sounded good from each of the three recipes I had found.  And was very happy with what I ended up with!  Yum!  Andy only had a bite, but said something like “It’s not too bad.”  Not exactly a victory, but I’ll take it.

One large bunch of Swiss Chard, washed but not dried, tough stems removed and leaves coarsely chopped
2 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tablespoon lemon zest
1 tablespoon of lime juice
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon crushed red pepper
pine nuts
goat cheese

Heat EVOO in large skillet over medium heat.  Saute the garlic for 1 minute. Add the chard and toss in oil and garlic.  Cook until the chard is wilted, about 3 minutes.  Add the lemon zest, lime, salt, and red pepper, and toss quickly. Add pine nuts and crumbled goat cheese, stir and serve.

Next time I might toast the pine nuts in the oil before adding the chard.  Or trying it will raisins or another nut.

Wish I’d taken a picture (not that it was anything special to look at!), but we were in a rush out the door for some Harvest Fest action.  So it was eat (yum!) and run.  I will be making it again.  And hopefully Andy will give it another try.

Please share any Swiss chard recipes you’ve used and liked.  Next time I’m going to try bok choy, so share those recipes as well. 🙂

Responses

  1. i stir fry chard with any other veggies i’m stir-frying with EVOO…just as a veggie side for a main meal. i’ve written about it on my blog a time or two. the recipe looks great!

  2. Thanks for your input, Katherine. Off to check out the archives of your blog! 🙂

  3. My mom used to make us eat it. I haven’t had it for years. This recipe reminds me of a brussels sprouts dish my s-i-l made for Thanksgiving. It was really nice because they were peeled and just leafy, not the big thick sour entire thing. Really yummy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

