Posted by: nikicf | December 29, 2009

Reset!

Well, I’ll be honest and say the my attempts at moderation this Christmas did not go as well as I had hoped.  I had a post almost totally written titled “Pacing Myself”, but couldn’t post it after I realized I really wasn’t do so well at this.

I did start out good.  I worked out hard and ate well in the days leading up the Christmas.  I ran 10K on Christmas Eve morning and ate super healthy all day, knowing the feasting would begin that evening.

But then the evening arrived and I started to eat the goodies and treats.  And once I started, I had a hard time stopping.  Christmas Day started out again with moderation in mind, but this idea once again got thrown out the window later in the day.  Boxing Day started with a 10K run and some good food, but ended with lots of treats and lots of over eating.  And the twenty-seventh was a disaster, right from when I started my day with some of my mother-in-law’s baking.  Eeek!

But thankfully today I was able to press what I call the “reset button”.  I went for a nice long (9.5K) run in the morning and made it the whole day without any sweets or treats.  And this is just what I need to get back on track.  I’m hoping to get out for some exercise tomorrow morning, and then to commit to “treating” my body to some good, healthy, well-balanced meals.

I also had to share some more motivation to get back on track and recommit myself to healthy living in the new year – photos.  Both of these pictures were taken by my aunt at our annual Boxing Day festivities.  The first was taken last year and the second was just two days ago.  The difference is about 45 lbs and feeling good in my own body.  And I won’t give that up for anything! Certainly not for some Nanaimo Bars or Peanut Butter Confetti Squares!

December 2008

December 2009

Hope you all had a good Christmas and were able to apply moderation better than I. And here’s to a healthy and happy 2010!

Responses

  1. amazing! you are beautiful and inspiring.

  2. what a year for you niki!!!! congratulations…I have so enjoyed following you…genuine and relatable…a true inspiration! 15k….holy smokes!!!!

  3. Thanks girls! Appreciate your words a lot!

    And yes, Meg. 15K. 13K yesterday just about did me in, so I’m hoping I did not bite off more than I can chew! 😛


Leave a Reply

Categories

