Posted by: nikicf | January 7, 2010

Custard Oat Bran

This one is for you, Rachel! 🙂

I’m sure you can find more info online for making a larger batch or using the stovetop. But this is my one (big) serving microwave version.  I LOVE how 1/4 c. of oatbran (58 calories, ~1.5 g. fat, ~3.5 g. fibre) makes such a big bowl!

1/4 c. oatbran (I just buy it in bulk at the grocery store)
3/4 c. skim milk, 1/2 c. water (~1 1/4 c. liquid total – you can decide the proportions)
1 banana (Overripe is best as they are sweetest. I keep a bag of them in my freezer and just use these a lot of the time – defrosted in the microwave and then mashed.)
pinch of salt
spices (pumpkin pie spice or cinnamon)

I microwave in a large glass bowl on high for 4, stir and then another 4. The length of cooking mostly has to do with making the bananas disappear into the oats. The mushed frozen ones take less time than a sliced regular banana. I then add 1/4 c. of egg whites and microwave for 1 – 1 1/2 more.

Lately I have been doing pumpkin oatbran. So I add only 1/2 of a banana, and 1/3 – 1/2 c. of pure pumpkin puree (canned) instead. I add the pumpkin before the egg white and microwave for an extra 1-2 minutes.
Sweeten to your liking (with brown sugar, Splenda or Stevia), top with goodies (almond butter, peanut butter, walnuts, brown sugar, etc) and enjoy! 🙂

Ingredients all ready to go

Oat bran goodness!

And ready to be consumed!  While blogging or facebooking, usually! 🙂

Pumpkin version with raw almond butter and a sprinkling of carob chips! YUM!

Nutritional info:

Banana Custard Oat Bran – 261 calories, 1.65 grams fat, 6.6 grams fibre –> 5 Points

Pumpkin Custard Oat Bran – 251 calories, 1.65 grams fat, 9.1 grams fibre –>4 Points

Plus toppings, of course.  Mine normally includes a 15 g. (1 tbsp) serving of almond butter, which is an additional 95 calories, 8.5 gr. fat, 1.5 gr. fibre –> 2 Points.

Responses

  1. my goodness! you do this every day? I guess eating right takes some effort, hey?! What’s the carb / calorie count on this, or does it not matter?

  2. Ya, it does take a bit of work. But you could totally do a larger stove top version. I keep meaning to, but then reverting to this because I’ve mastered it! 😉

    I’ll work out the calorie info for you and add it here. I don’t do anything with carbs, but go more with the Points (calories, fat and fibre).

  3. Rachel – added the nutritional info to the post. I don’t really count calories or Points normally, but just try to be aware of such info and make choices based on this. Occasionally I’ll work out calories/Points so I know how I’m doing and what I can work on. So far this has worked for me.

  4. i’m trying this out right now for my family for breakfast – seeing as i got the oatbran last nite…

    not sure i want to include the eggwhites – that’s the only weirdish part for me…. will let ya know! 🙂

  5. I bought oatbran, too. Have you used whole eggs instead of the whites? I could Egg Beaters I suppose. It would definately make the recipe easier!

  6. Nope, I’ve never tried whole eggs. I always have Egg Beaters in the house, as I use them for several recipes and this obviously does make it easier.


Leave a Reply

Categories

