Posted by: nikicf | January 9, 2010

Had to share!

My new hummus recipe!  (Well, I guess it is not really MY recipe, but Kath’s.  But so glad I tried it!)  If you like kalamata olives, you’ll love this!  Delicious and oh-so-easy!

  • Can of garbanzo beans, drained
  • ~2 tbsp bean liquid reserve (depending of consistency you like for your hummus)
  • 1 tbsp. tahini (or any nut butter will work – I don’t have sesame seed paste so used cashew butter)
  • ~8-10 kalamata olives
  • ~1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • Pinch of garlic powder
  • Pinch of oregano (I left this out as I was out of it.)

Puree in your food processor until hummus desired consistency is reached.

Great with raw veggies or multigrain rice crackers!

And while I’m sharing, I’ll add another recipe we are loving!  Andy is currently sitting beside me, watching the hockey game and chowing down on rice crackers with our new favorite Black Bean Dip.  I happened upon this recipe when making appies for New Years Eve.  So glad I did.  It is healthy, easy (though not as easy as the above recipe) and YUM!

Slightly adapted from this recipe:

  • can of black beans, drained and rinced
  • 2 plum tomatoes (bulk of seeds removed) – I was out of tomatoes so added a few spoonfuls of chunky fresh style salsa
  • 1/4 red onion (used reg. onion tonight, as I was out)
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 clove garlic , minced
  • juice of one lime
  • ~1/2 tsp. salt
  • ~1/2 to whole bunch of chopped cilantro

Food process until desired consistency is reached.

Dark and light bean deliciousness! 😉

Responses

  1. Just made another batch of the Olive hummus! YUM!


Leave a Reply

Categories

