Posted by: nikicf | January 11, 2010

Happy Healthy Anniversary

(A day late!)

A year ago yesterday I started my healthy journey.  It was a bit of a late start, but on January 10, I made my resolution to make 2009 my year of healthy living.  Of course, I’ve started a new diet many, many times and didn’t end up sticking with it too long.  But somehow, thankfully, this time was different.  It was hard work, HARD WORK, but I did it.  SO worth it.

Still working on how to “maintain” and stay at a happy, healthy weight, but glad and thankful to be here.

And to celebrate?  A big piece of chocolate brownie.  Just kidding.  That does sound yum, but not so appropriate for the occasion!  Instead, a 15K run.

Yes, today was my last long run before my next race on Sunday.  I’m freaking out a bit that I decided to go for the 15K instead of sticking with the familiar 10K.  I wanted to challenge myself and do something different.  Sounded good back when I signed up, but I’m very nervous now.  15K is still VERY HARD for me.  I’ve done it twice (once a few months back and then today) and it kicks my butt.

I do my weekly long runs on Monday because that is the day that Andy is home and I’m able to get out for this longer length of time.  Unfortunately today was raining.  It had been raining all night, and there was no sign it would let up.  So I decided I had to just get out and do it.  I came home DRENCHED!  There were puddles on my path that were shoe deep!  My feet were prunes by the end of the 1 1/2+ hours!

But I did it! And took a picture to document.  Can you see that the only dry spot is at my hips.  The rest of me is soaked!

Glad it is over, and will be happy to say the same about the race.

Responses

  1. You rock!! I am VERY proud of you.

  2. Congratulations on completing your tough long run! You’re going to rock the 15k!

  3. Don’t you feel so hard core after a long run with the rain dripping off the end of your nose? Love it!

  4. amazing! I need to get me some ear buds to learn to run. Have you done any other exercise? Not that you’ve needed to, your running is amazing! What’s on your arm? Body Bug, or something?

  5. This rain was a bit much for my liking, Katherine. But I sure did feel hard core. Or crazy. A little of both, I guess.

    Rach – answering your Q on other exercise. (I think I talk about this in the “Exercise I Do” section.) The short answer is mostly run (3-4 days a week), with a little exercise DVDs on the side (1-2x a week). Turbo Jam and Turbo Sculpt I like, and notice results from. Still wanting to borrow a copy of the Shred to try one day.

    The thing on my arm is my ipod holder. I’d love to try a body bug but those things are SO expensive.

    Hope your BLAH challenge goes well! Even if you don’t win, I’m sure you’ll be happy you did it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

