Posted by: nikicf | January 22, 2010

What’s for Supper?

I’m always curious to see what others are having for supper.  Especially other moms who are feeding families of young kids.

I have very picky eaters (one especially!) and I’ll admit to making two meals, or making kid-friendly adaptations or additions, most nights.  (Please don’t look down on me! 😉 )  It doesn’t help that the more veggies I add to my own meals and diet, the less my kids seem to share my meals.  Don’t worry, I’m still feeding them balanced(ish), healthy(ish) meals, but they don’t always look the same as mine. Still trying food out on them though, and hoping to add to our list of healthy meals we ALL like.

For example, Tuesday night was spaghetti.  I start with a lean meat sauce, which the kids eat over whole wheat noodles with Parmesan.  Andy likes mushrooms, so his meat-y sauce gets a whole whack of those added.  I’ve convinced him (most of the time) to have his sauce over spaghetti squash.  For me, I add the mushrooms, an extra can of diced tomatoes (less meaty is my preference) and often some zucchini sauteed in EVOO (extra virgin olive oil).  Plus I eat it over spaghetti squash.

Complicated enough for ya?  This might drive others bonkers, but it works for my family and so it works for me.  (Again, don’t “flame” me!)  I’m happy we are all eating healthy!

Tonight I’m trying a recipe from Kath’s site (the recipe is in the comments).  This White Bean Chili her mother-in-law made for her looked delicious and right up my alley, so we’ll be trying that tonight.  I’ll likely cook up some rice to add to the bulk of the kids’ meal, as well as a veggie (corn is liked by all) and maybe a few breaded chicken strips in case the chili is not a hit.

__________________________________

From Kath Eats Real Food:

WHITE BEAN CHILI


Bring to boil, then simmer until done (20 minutes?) 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts in three cups water. Remove chicken and chop. Return to broth.

Saute one cup chopped onion, 4 cloves chopped garlic in 1 teaspoon olive oil. Then add to broth.

Add to above:

juice from one squeezed lime
approximately 18 ounces frozen white shoepeg corn (can use yellow if can’t find white)
one whole chopped jalapeno
2 15-ounce cans Great Northern Beans (drained)
1 tbsp cumin
4 oz can chopped green chilis (drained) –
I didn’t have these on hand to left them out, but added chopped cilantro instead.

Simmer all approximately one hour. May need to add some more canned chicken broth if it’s too thick.

Top with tostitos, jack cheese, sour cream, salsa, green onions, olives, the kitchen sink!!!!

__________________________________

I’m planning to add light sour cream, fresh style salsa, and some more cilantro.

Update: Chili was a hit.  Kids ate it decently well (with encouragement, but that is normal for around here) and Andy and I really enjoyed it.  I will definitely be adding this to the rotation!  Thanks Karen and Kath!

So, what foods do you feed your family?  Do you all eat the same meal without exception, or does it look more like things at my house?

Responses

  1. So glad your kids liked it!! Love the addition of cilantro too!

  2. most of the time, we all eat the same thing, except when it comes to burgers or steak. Taeya doesn’t like much food, but she’ll still eat most things (albeit 2 or 3 bites of it). tonight we’re having burgers, so the kids had leftover rice and chicken. Taeya doesn’t like spicy food, but Ezra chows down on spicy. so yes and no 🙂 it’s tough when everyone has different preferences. i am trying to eat healthier, but Alf loves the creamy, comfort foods! yikes! 🙂

  3. suppertime is a bit tricky around here. PZ is doing low-carb, I’m trying to do a healthy balance, and the boys are picky. A few things we’ve tried lately have been too spicy for them (and me!). We’re just getting on a role. We know a guy who ate nothing but taco salad (supper and lunch, perhaps, not sure about those details) for a year and lost 50 pounds! It’s tempting, but we’ll try to keep things exciting with new recipes. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

