Posted by: nikicf | February 14, 2010

New Sopa de Tortilla

Jessica commented and teased me with a tomato-based Tortilla Soup I should try. I was so impatient waiting for her recipe, that I decided to give the internet a go.

I googled “tomato based Sopa de Tortilla healthy recipe” and picked the first result, based mostly on an appealing picture.  I’m changing it a bit to simplify, so we’ll see how it goes.  I’m also adding chicken (one of those roasted chickens you buy from the grocery store) as I had already bought it to make my version of tortilla soup.   I’ll give a review once I’m done and have tasted the results.

Whisk together in stock pot:

6 c. chicken broth
3 tbsp. tomato paste

Cook to brown in fry pan in 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, and add to broth mixture:

1 jalapeno, finely chopped
3/4 of a large can of diced tomatoes (drained)
1 1/2 c. frozen corn

Lightly cook (till onions are transparent) in dirty fry pan from above, and add to broth mixture:

1 chopped onion
6 minced cloves of garlic

Add to broth:

Chopped cooked chicken

Cook for 10 minutes to thicken.

Laddle into bowl an add “extras”: squeeze of sliced lime, sliced avocado, chopped cilantro, light grated cheese and light sour cream. Serve!  😀

Verdict?  Yum. I definitely liked the flavor addition of lime, and next time might add more jalapeno for some heat.  Jess, I look forward to trying your version! 🙂

______________________________________

Also wanted to add that I found a great site for free audio books for my ipod: http://downloads.bclibrary.ca.  I love listening to audio books while running.  Usually I choose Christian living books, and christianaudio.com has a free ebook each month so I’m well stocked for those.  For my long Monday runs, I’ve decided to switch to fiction, and was excited to see that I could get Kate JacobsComfort Food on there.  (I went to school in Hope with her, so it is fun to read her stuff!)

Leave a Reply

Categories

