Posted by: nikicf | February 27, 2010

Green Saturday

My old friend Erin inspired me to try my first “green monster“. I’d been meaning to try one of these spinach smoothies for quite awhile, but had not gotten around to it.  (Likely a bit scared, though I had been brave enough to try green oats!)

But after seeing Erin’s creation on facebook (in a plastic wine glass, no less!) I decided to give it a go.  I was pleasantly surprised.  Both Andy and I enjoyed it, so hopefully we’ll be making more in the future. (The kids preferred their “normal” smoothie!)  In case you wondered, you can’t really taste the spinach, so it is really just the colour you have to get past.

This recipe:

  • skim milk
  • banana
  • ice cubes
  • frozen cranberries
  • raw spinach
  • liquid Stevia
  • ground flax seed

I love experimenting with new and healthy foods!  Right now I’m attempting my first sprouted beans.  We’ll see how that goes!  😉

Responses

  1. Hi Niki! Thanks for commenting on my blog 🙂 In looking around yours it sounds like you live in England? We just moved from there back to California!
    I had that same surprise when I tried my first green smoothie, too! You really can’t taste the spinach. Now, kale, on the other hand…that takes a little more getting used to! 😉

  2. Thanks for the comment, Lara! I’m so curious about what makes me look like I live in England. My dad is British. but I actually live in Canada.

    Not sure I’ll be trying the kale version. I love kale, but think I will keep it as a vegetable side instead of in my smoothies!! 😛

  3. Are you calling me “old?” just kidding! glad you had success. today was my first day of not drinking one in 5 days, and I really did miss it!! I don’t know if it was power of suggestion or what, but I really felt like I didn’t have as much energy later in the day since I didn’t drink one…

  4. No, not old! But from “away back”! We have known each other for over 11 years!

    If power of suggestion works giving energy, then I’m all for it! 🙂

    So what is your favorite recipe? Sounds like you found one you like and are happy with!

  5. Well, I haven’t tried a whole lot yet, because I have just been using what we have had around the house. My favorite so far is: 1tbs. flax seed, about 4 handfuls of spinach, 1 handful of kale, about 5-8 strawberries (I had frozen on hand, but hope to use fresh this summer, after they “hopefully” grow in my garden) 1 banana, a few raspberries (I don’t really like the seeds, but I know raspberries are good fer ya, and I had them on hand) about a half a cup of fat free yogurt (I had vanilla) and about a half a cup of skim milk. I tried it with whey protein, but didn’t like the taste. Might try it with soy protein later. I sneak it to my son too, I just don’t add as much spinach (he doesn’t like the green) and add more raspberries to make it more “red” like he likes it! Honestly, I’m hooked though…and I make extra and drink it during the day when I feel like snacking.

  6. Sounds similar to what I’ve been trying, though I don’t add the yogurt (except sometimes for the kids). I had some frozen cranberries from Thanksgiving and have been using them, as well as strawberries. (All my other frozen fruit from the summer is used up.)

    I have yet to add kale. Like it as a chip or a side dish, but less sure in my smoothie!!

    I’m out of spinach today, so will have to get some more right away. I like the idea of making extra and having it when I want to snack. (So that would be like ALL evening!!)

    Yesterday I tried adding hemp hearts and even my kids did not complain (they were less certain of the ground flax seed).

  7. […] trying to deal with my nighttime snack struggles. My strategy for curbing my evening troubles?  A green monster smoothie every evening.  No decisions to make.  And nothing if is past 9:30 pm (keep in mind I’m […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

