Posted by: nikicf | March 2, 2010

The Good News and the Bad News

What do you want first?  The good news?  Or the bad news?

Let’s go with bad news first.  That way we can end on a good note! 🙂

I ate badly today.  It started by opening a bag of sweet potato tortilla chips.  Ya, they seemed like a good idea at the time.  Just a few, I thought.  A taste.  

But it ended up being a lot.  At least two servings.  And don’t let the sweet potato part fool you.  They are really just tortilla chips, with the fat and calories to prove it!  And unfortunately I didn’t stop there.  I just kept eating.  Not sure what my deal was, but I’m frustrated with myself and my choices this afternoon/evening.

The only redeeming factor is that I have gotten some clarity in the past hour and have stopped the cycle now.  It is 9 pm and I’m done with the eating.  Kitchen is closed.  Instead of giving up and making myself a snack, I’m going to throw on my work-out clothes and grab a giant bottle of water and work off some calories while I watch TV tonight.

With that in mind, we’ll move on to the good news.  I ran a 1/2 marathon yesterday!!!  I did it!  My training plan was not supposed to include the full 13.1 miles until the day of the race, but I mentally needed to have done it once before that day.  And yesterday was the day.  Yahoooo!  It was hard, but I did it!! 

Now I’m 12 days away and know I can do this.  And I feel great! (Except for my butt, which is still complaining about the work I put it through!!)  Whoever thought I could or would be running a 1/2 marathon??!!??

There you have it. The ups and downs, the good and the bad, of weight loss/weight maintenance!

Here’s to a great day tomorrow!  For all of us! 🙂

Responses

  1. That’s awesome!! I’m so proud of you for running that!!!
    Good luck with your race!

  2. Thanks Cari!

    Are you running again? Maybe one day we’ll do a race together!

  3. awesome! congrats – now you are totally ready and you have proof that you CAN DO IT and YOU WILL FINISH! yay… i wanna be just like you when i grow up. 🙂

  4. That’s impressive Niki…Congratulations! You’ve come so far with your running that it gives me hope too!! 🙂

  5. Awww… thanks guys! I appreciate your encouragement!

  6. Wow! You’re going to do great in that race!


Leave a Reply

Categories

