Posted by: nikicf | March 10, 2010

I think I can, I think I can!

This morning I did my second to last run before my 1/2.  I realize I’ve been spoiled these past weeks in that I have not run in the rain (that I remember) since January.  I even got snowed on a bit. Eeeeeek!  Makes me nervous for Saturday, as running for 2+ hours in the rain and puddles will be hard!

Heck, I’m nervous even without the rain or snow!  21.1K??  What was I thinking??!!?? 😉

I think I can, I think I can!

(Love this story!  A childhood classic!)

I am actually excited to do the run.  This race I have been training for since before Christmas.  I was scared to admit I wanted to do it, but was secretly contemplating the crazy idea as I started to do runs over the 10K mark.  I told Andy I might do it and not tell anyone. Now here I am, three days away from doing it (well, 59 hours actually!), with my huge blog audience (ha, ha, ha!!) ready to cheer me on! ;P

The strange thing for me now is I can’t really do anything more to prepare.  At this stage of the game, I am supposed to be tapering my work-out schedule so my body will be rested and ready to run on the big day.  This kind of freaks me out, I think mostly because I’m the “cram-before-the-test” kind of person.  But I’ve done the prep work and now I just have to relax and mentally prepare to do it.  Weird!   Friday my nike+ coach says I’m to go out and run 3.21K (2 miles) on Friday, the day before the race.  It is going to feel quite strange to run this, as I’ve not run less than 6K at a go since I did my 7K race in August.

But I’ve got to trust the program and work on my mental game for Saturday.

I think I can, I think I can!

Responses

  1. I’ve heard about the tapering thing from my other half-marathon running friends. You’ve already done it once, Saturday will be easier!


Leave a Reply

Categories

