Posted by: nikicf | May 1, 2010

Another Milestone, and a Recipe!

Yesterday I hit a new running milestone.  Since getting my nike+ (a device attached to my ipod which measures and logs my runs) for my birthday last year (Aug. 09), I have run ONE THOUSAND KILOMETRES!  I’ve said it before (getting sick of hearing it yet?), but I never imagined this is something I would accomplish.  So this makes it extra special and amazing for me.

I was talking to a friend and fellow runner and she was saying what a gift from God it was to discover running.  It made me realize/remember how grateful I am as well.  And it is beyond the physical benefits, though I appreciate those a bunch as well. My time out on the road is such an amazing time alone, with my thoughts and with God.  I love listening to audio books on my ipod and playlists of worship songs.  When I can’t go, I sure do miss this time.

Now on to the recipe.  I know I have posted about my blended cottage cheese creations before, but I have discovered a new variation that rocks my (and my husband’s) world, and so I must share it.  Last night while making some chocolate cottage cheese, I decided to try adding a little instant coffee as well, to see how a mocha cottage cheese fruit dip might taste.  All I can say is WOWEEEE!!  The stuff is downright amazing!  My husband said this just might be my best creation yet, and that I’ve solved his nighttime chocolate desires!  (That sure made me feel happy!)

Tonight we sat down and enjoyed a cup of decaf coffee with a bowl of strawberries and this Mocha Delight and all was right with the world! 😉  If you like coffee at all, you must try it.  Promise me!

The husband, giving his approval!

As for the recipe, I mostly just do it to taste.  But I’ll give you approximate quantities so you have an idea.  Last night, I tried to measure as I went so I could share it here on the blog.

2 500 ml containers of 1% cottage cheese (they were out of the 750 ml and I knew we’d burn through one pretty quickly)
~1/4 – 1/2 c. cocoa powder
~1/3 c. Splenda (do this to taste, as it depends how sweet you like it)
~1 tsp. real vanilla extract
2-3 tbsp. instant coffee (I bought some decaf just for this, as I knew we’d be wanting to have this treat as dessert or an evening snack)

I use a bamix, but the key is to blend the cottage cheese until it is perfectly smooth and creamy, without any lumps or bumps.  A food processor or decent blender should work too.  Let me know if you do try it.

Responses

  1. Running is a great gift indeed!

  2. I just made your mocha dip. Yum! I think I made it a bit strong for my tastes, but now I know to adjust it for next time. I will definitely make it again!!

    • Glad you liked it! A few days ago we tried just coffee and loved it too! It reminded me of an ice cream flavour love, so we popped a couple cups of it and had it partially frozen from the freezer! YUM! A great summer “treat” to have!


Leave a Reply

Categories

