Posted by: nikicf | June 29, 2010

Epic Fail!

Wow, it has been about a month and a half since my last post. Not sure if anyone even reads this blog anymore, but if you are out there, I apologize for the lack of blog posting over the past 6+ weeks.

I’ll be honest and say that there are two reasons for it.

#1 – During a lot of our travels, we’ve had shoddy or no internet access. Plus 24/7 with my little family in an RV means there is not a lot of time to spend on blog writing.

#2 – I’ve not been doing very well. There – I said it. I did not keep my with my plan while taking our month long road trip. And since then have bombed horribly while vacationing in Atlanta with my in-laws (always a struggle here).

I have exercised some, but not even close to the amount that would compensate for my unhealthy eating.  Or what I’d be doing if I were at home with my normal routine.  So my weight it up and I’m feeling it.  Mentally and physically. 😦

I’m discouraged with myself, but not writing this blog without hope. Though I am frustrated with myself, I’m ready to get back on the wagon and work to get back to my healthy habits.  The habits I maintained for over a year.  Yes, I’m taken a LONG vacation from these habits, but I’m ready to get back to these habits again.

We fly home from Atlanta tomorrow (well, today actually) and I’m going to hit the round running.  Almost literally.  I am going to hit up our local fruit and veggie market on the way home so there is lots of good stuff to eat and cook with.  I’m planning a mini super veggie/fruit detox for the 4 days we are home and then plan to eat super healthy while on vacation with my family in Chase.  (Thankfully, my sis will be there to kick my butt if I don’t!  So I’ll have to!)

Plus exercise.  Daily.

And hopefully you’ll be hearing from me more often on this and on my exercise and food journal blog too.  Even if no one is actually reading, I’ll be here and it keeps me focused and accountable.

Off to bed I go, as the wake up time to catch our flight is fast approaching.

Responses

  1. i’ve been sick for a week (cold, UTI, period), have eaten VERY poorly, and no exercise. So it may be a shorter amount of time compared to you, but i am in exactly the same boat.
    SO…let’s ‘recover’ together – get back to our good habits and re-lose these pounds we’ve re-gained recently… 🙂

    • Sounds like a plan, Kelly! We’ll recover together! I always like having a buddy! 🙂

      You look fabulous by the way! Your family photoshoot was awesome and all your hard work has paid off! Now that you’re running 10K, you’ll have to do the Abby Police run in Sept! Lots of fun!!

      • thanks for the encouragement 🙂 i was actually thinking about doing this police run, but it turns out we are on holidays then! 😦

  2. You can totally do it Niki! Looking forward to hearing about your progress.

    • Thanks Katherine! You are such a great encourager!!

  3. I’ve been praying for you to be able to continue on in your healthy habits but also KNOW that even this “epic fail” is going to be used by God to take you to a different place with Him. As soon as I read your post the verse that came to mind was “seek ye first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things will be added unto you…”
    Looked up the passage and found this…
    “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes?
    Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life… So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.
    Each day has enough trouble of its own.

    Blessings on you my friend… You know exactly what to do, you’ve already made a plan to do it, rest in the knowledge that you are LOVED and respected and a little weight gain won’t change that.

    Have a good run : )

    • Thanks for your encouragement and wisdom. I appreciate the verses you shared. I’ve often thought about the passage from Matthew and hope that I can focus on God and honour him with my temple.

      Thanks for your support, Jude! Don’t see you often anymore, but appreciate the contact we have! You are a blessing to me, especially in this area.

  4. Hey! I can totally relate on a smaller scale. We just got back from 2 weeks camping. I was so determined to eat healthy and exercise daily. Hah!!! It just didn’t happen. I ate tons of junk food and didn’t exercise nearly as much as I had wanted. But, I’m home now. No more junk food and I went for a really good walk this morning and am booked to walk with my neighbour tomorrow morning. I’m determined to make this a “new beginning”!

    Chin up darlin’ you’ll get right back into the swing of things once you’re home and back into routine.

    Miss you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

